Fear and Loathing in Chicago

I had the opportunity to enjoy a bit of fear and loathing in Chicago from Saturday to Tuesday of this week.  I’ve been making this trip at the end of November for the past 6 years.  Even though the main purpose of the trip is work related I do try to squeeze every drop of fear and loathing I can from my “off” hours.  I highly recommend the staying at the Hyatt Regency.  I’ve stayed here many times and I’ve been impressed every time.

I arrived in time on Saturday to watch Alabama put it to Auburn pretty hard.  I caught the game at the Big Bar in the Lobby of the Hyatt.  Unfortunately I had to go to the McCormick Center for a briefing later in the evening which meant that I only had some Ice water while I watched the game on the twin 70′ plasma’s in the Bar.

We walked down Wacker to my favorite Chicago restaurant Bella Bacino’s.  In my opinion their Stuffed Pizza rivals any in Chicago.  In addition to the pizza being top notch the atmosphere is great as well.  As usual we had the Bacino’s Special which is packed with italian sausage, fresh mushrooms, green peppers and onions.  oh yea…it also has around 110 lbs of mozzarella and sauce.  While waiting for our pizza we completely demolished their fresh baked bread with the supplied olive oil and balsamic vinegar.    I decided to branch out and try the  Brother Thelonious Belgain Style Abbey Ale.  I have enjoyed Chimay in the past so I though I’d give this one a go. It was served in the appropriate Belgian style goblet.  It had a great nose and was very tasty.  I realized about half way through that it also kicked like a four legged ninja.  I checked their website and they used words like Dark, Strong and Robust to describe this brew that rolls in with an ABV of 9.4%.  On our last night we had a late dinner at Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House.  The place was packed and we were seated for our 9pm reservation around 9:30pm.  The service was top notch.  Hugo’s shares the same kitchen with Gibson’s Bar & Steakhouse.  The Food was great.  Some of the dishes around the table were Oysters Rockefeller, Alaskan King Crab Legs, and Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes with Hot Pink Mayonnaise.  I decided since this was a frog bar it was my duty to try the friggin’ Sauteed Frog Legs in Garlic Butter.  One of my fellow diners with a camera phone was nice enough to snap a picture.  We only had one night where there was time for more than dinner and a quick nightcap at the Hyatt’s lobby bar. That night after dinner we relaxed for some spirit’s and billiards at Rockit Bar and Grill on Hubbard.

So that pretty much wraps up the high points of  the trip.  It rained, snowed, the wind blew, the weather cleared and I was cold but I was also very happy to be in the great city of Chicago!

~ by freddywindham on December 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
